MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL PAROCHIAL CHURCH MEETING HELD ON WEDNESDAY 18TH MAY, 2022 FOR THE PARISH OF ST. JOHN THE DIVINE AND ST.CUTHBERT, LYTHAM AT 7.00PM AT ST. CUTHBERT'S.

<u>Present</u>

Reverend Nick Wells in the Chair, Richard Freeman, Jackie Freeman, Iain Ashcroft, Edward Leyland, Elizabeth Willis, Angela Lee, Claire Rowlings, Michelle O'Neill, Reverend Helen Houston, Marianne Cottier-Brown, Barbara Collins, Margaret Fisher, David Hyland, Linda Hyland, Clive Barnes, Bob Briscoe, Jacqui Briscoe, Rachel Leaper, Diana Harris, Graham Patterson, Kay Hopper, Hilda Swindlehurst, George Moore, Sheila Storey, Joyce Packer, Wendy Riley, Susan Holman, Peter Martin, Julie Smith, Rachel Higginbotham and Debbie Edwards.

Welcome and Prayers

Rev. Nick Wells welcomed everyone to the meeting and led the prayers.

Annual Vestry Meeting

- 1. **Apologies for Absence** Julie Webb, Linda Rowlings, Beryl Matthews, David Matthews, Martin Gunson, Bev Wells, Tabitha Riley and Dean Cowell.
- 2. Approve minutes of the last meetings for both St. John the Divine and St. Cuthbert both minutes had been circulated and displayed. St. John's APCM had been held on the 22nd April 2021 on Zoom and St. Cuthbert's APCM had been held on 18th April 2021 on Zoom. They were both agreed as a true and correct record. Proposed David Hyland and seconded Liz Willis for St. Cuthbert'sand proposed Richard Freeman and seconded Hilda Swindlehurst for St. John's. All in favour.
- 3. **Report on the Church Fabric** Dave Hyland read the report for St. Cuthbert's, which had already been circulated. Copy attached. There were no questions, therefore the report was duly accepted. Rev. Nick read the report for St. John's. As there were no questions the report was duly accepted. Copy attached.
- 4. **Approve Church Representation Rules** Copy attached. Proposed Nick seconded Dave Hyland. All in agreement.
- 5. Election of Churchwardens and Deputy Churchwardens Churchwardens Dave Hyland (St. Cuthbert's) and Susan Holman (St. John's) were nominated and being no further nominations were declared elected. Deputy Churchwardens Debbie Edwards (St.Cuthbert's) was nominated and being no further nominations duly elected. Nick did mention that there was still a Deputy Churchwarden vacancy and asked if anyone would give it some thought and come forward for the role. Thanks went to Liz Willis for her four years' service at St. Cuthbert's and Kay Hopper from St. John's for all her help.

Annual Church Meeting

- 6. **Apologies for Absence** Julie Webb, Linda Rowlings, Beryl Matthews, David Matthews, Martin Gunson, Bev Wells, Tabitha Riley and Dean Cowell.
- 7. Approve minutes for the last meetings for both St. John's and St. Cuthbert's these had been circulated and accepted. Proposed Richard Freeman and seconded Hilda Swindlehurst

for St. John's. All in favour. Dave Hyland and Liz Willis proposed and seconded for St. Cuthbert's. All in favour.

- 8. Approve Church Representation Rules As previously mentioned item 4.
- Receive the Electoral Roll Both churches Electoral Rolls have been combined as advised by the Archdeacon of Lancaster and new people added. The Electoral Roll at the present time is 286 people.
- 10. Receive Annual Reports (including Financial Reports) for both St. John the Divine and St. Cuthbert – These had been circulated and copies are attached. Peter Martin spoke for St. John's . There were no questions. Peter Martin proposed the Accounts and Report and Kay Hopper seconded. All agreed. Nick spoke on behalf of Dean Cowell for St. Cuthbert's and asked if there were any questions. There were none. The Accounts and Report proposed Dave Hyland and seconded Linda Hyland. All in favour.
- Election to Kirkham Deanery Synod There had been 4 nominations making all the posts filled. Representatives are Debbie Edwards, Liz Willis, Wendy Riley and Rachel Higginbotham.
- 12. Election to the Parochial Church Council After the offices had been filled it left 3 vacancies for each church. These had been filled by Claire Rowlings, Linda Hyland and Julie Smith for St. Cuthbert's. The 3 for St. John's are Kay Hopper, Iain Ashcroft and Rachel Leaper. Nick mentioned that Michelle O'Neill was nominated on to the PCC to represent Lytham C of E School.
- **13. Election of Sidespeople –** agreed as last year, but the list needs reviewing.
- **14. Election of Lytham Club Day Reps** Julie Smith quite happy to continue as a representative. However, there is still a second vacancy to be filled.
- **15. Election of the Church in Lytham Reps** Bev Wells and Ian Birnie are happy to continue as representatives.
- **16. Appointment of Independent Examiner** Debbie Thorne at Champions in Blackpool has been the Independent Examiner for St. Cuthbert's. Nick would like to keep the link for the time being as we have to make sure we have independent examinations. All agreed.
- 17. Report from Deanery Synod Debbie Edwards had produced a report which is now in the booklet .
- **18. Report from the Safeguarding Officer** Angela had written the report and this can be found in the booklet.

- 19. Receive Other Reports Debbie and Fiona had put together a booklet for all the reports. Inside can be found reports from: Deanery Synod, Mother's Union, Lytham Church of England School, Fairtrade, Community Craft Group, Safeguarding, Lytham Rainbows, Brownies, Sea Scouts, Cubs and Beavers and Guides. The booklet had been circulated for people to read.
- 20. Vicar's Report Attached
- **21. Any Other Business** Rev'd Helen Houston gave a vote of thanks to Nick for keeping matters together during a difficult time with Covid and the coming together of the two churches into one parish. Nick then thanked everyone for coming, especially those standing on the PCC and those who had served on the 2 PCC previously.

Annual Meeting of St. Cuthbert's Club

- **22.** Approve minutes of the last meeting Nick explained to those who did not know what the St. Cuthbert's Club was in that it was a legal way for St. Cuthbert's to serve alcohol in the hall with all those on the Electoral Roll being members of the club. The minutes from last year were then approved. Proposed by Nick seconded by Dave Hyland.
- **23.** Election of St. Cuthbert's Club Committee It was agreed that the Vicar, Churchwardens, Treasurer and PCC Secretary should be the committee members.

The meeting closed at 7.45pm.

PCC Meeting

- 1. Election of PCC Lay Chair, PCC Treasurer and PCC Secretary Kay Hopper as Lay Chair, Wendy Riley as PCC Treasurer and Debbie Edwards as PCC Secretary. Proposed Angela Lee seconded Rachel Higginbotham. All in favour.
- 2. Confirm Bank and Account Signatories we had anticipated opening an account with the Co-op Bank, but recent reviews meant this was being reconsidered. In the meantime it was agreed we remain with Barclays for St. Cuthbert's and HSBC for St. John's, but eventually close both down and open elsewhere. The signatories should be treasurer, churchwardens and one other and any two signatures from those four.

Nick spoke about the Parish Giving Scheme and he proposed we accept the scheme and Wendy Riley seconded. All in favour.

3. Date of Next Meeting - Monday 20th June 2022 at 7.00pm at St. Cuthbert's.

The meeting closed at 8.00pm with the Grace.